Click here to return to the JeffersonCountyLibrary.org home page.

JeffersonCountyLibrary.org
Catalog | Programs & Services | Kids | Teens | Reference | About JCL | Site Index


Calendar of Events
Online Catalog
JCL Branches
Contact JCL
Search JCL Online
JOIN-N

Programs & Services
Kids & Teens
Reference
About JCL
Site Index
spacer

Special Collections
Online Resources
Assignment Alerts
Internet Safety
Internet Searching
Web Site Evaluation
Looking for a
    good book?
Reference Links
Government Info
Jefferson County
    Elected Officials
Contact Reference
Reference Policies


ONLINE RESOURCES BY TOPIC
 

Genealogy / Local History Reference
(Directories / Auto Repair...)
Magazines / Newspapers Ebooks

OCLC First Search - Interlibrary Loans


Genealogy / Local History

Ancestry Library Edition

With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more!  These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.

Access Ancestry Library Edition from JCL:

  Click here to access Ancesty from a Public Access Computer located at one of the JCL branches.

HeritageQuest Online

This collection assembles every extant U.S. federal census; family genealogies; local histories; tax lists; city directories; land and probate records; birth, marriage and death records; genealogical and local history serials; and more.  New content is added regularly.

Access HeritageQuest from JCL:

Click here to access HeritageQuest from a JCL public access computer. Click here to access HeritageQuest from a Public Access Computer located at one of the JCL branches.

 

Click here if you are accessing HeritageQuest from at home (remotely). Click here for remote access to HeritageQuest from at home. Enter your library card without any spaces on the login page. Then choose HeritageQuest from the online resources listed.

back to top


Magazines / Newspapers

EBSCOHost

EBSCOHost Web - Information in EBSCOhost is from current and authoritative journals, magazines, pamphlets, newsletters and reference books on a wide variety of topics.  The majority of the articles are full-text and can be printed out directly from this database.  Also, many articles are available in .pdf (portable document format) which includes all graphical elements from the original document.

Access EBSCOHost from JCL:

Click here for access to EBSCOHost from a Public Access Computer located at one of the JCL branches. Click here to access EBSCOHost from a Public Access Computer located at one of the JCL branches.

Access EBSCOHost from at home (remotely):

Click here for remote access to EBSCOHost if you want to access the database from at home (remotely). Click here for remote access to EBSCOHost if you want to access the database from at home (remotely).

NewsBank

Complete full-text of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements and funeral notices are excluded.

St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1988-Current)
The Kansas City Star (1991-Current)
MOREnet Full-Text Newspapers
(search both of the above newspapers at the same time)
The New York Times (2000-Current)
Chicago Tribune Historical Archive - Images and full text of historical local, regional, national, and international issues and events including major wars, prohibition, Chicago gangsters, the Great Depression, inventions, sports, and the arts from the Chicago Tribune Morgue clippings file. Extensive front page coverage.

* Newsbank Instructions in portable document format (.pdf)

Access Newsbank from JCL:

Click here to access Newsbank from a JCL Public Access Computer. Click here to access Newsbank from a Public Access Computer located at one of the JCL branches.

Access Newsbank from at home (remotely):

Click here for remote access to Newsbank if you want to access the database from at home (remotely). Click here for remote access to Newsbank if you want to access the database from at home (remotely).  Enter your library card without any spaces on then login page.  Then choose Newsbank from the online resources listed.

LISTA: Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts

This world-class bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.

Access LISTA from JCL:

  Click here to access LISTA from a Public Access Computer located at one of the JCL branches.

Access LISTA from at home (remotely):

  Click here for remote access to LISTA if you want to access the database from at home (remotely).

Teacher Reference Center

This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more.

Access Teacher Reference Center from JCL:

  Click here to access Teacher Reference Center from a Public Access Computer located at one of the JCL branches.

Access Teacher Reference Center from at home (remotely):

  Click here for remote access to Teacher Reference Center if you want to access the database from at home (remotely).


back to top


Reference

Gale Discovering Collection

Thousands of overview essays, critical analyses, biographies, primary sources, creative works and multimedia elements make it easy for students to research papers and class assignments in five core subject areas: history, literature, biography, science and social studies.

Access Gale Discovering Collection from JCL:

  Click here to access Gale Discovering Collection from a Public Access Computer located at one of the JCL branches.

Access Gale Discovering Collection from at home (remotely):

  Click here for remote access to Gale Discovering Collection if you want to access the database from at home (remotely).

Learning Express Library

Learning Express Library is designed to help people succeed on the tests they must pass to gain citizenship, improve their testing skills or to further their education or career. Over 300 online academic and licensing practice tests including SAT, ACT, GRE, LSAT, Advanced Placement, civil service, military, real estate, law enforcement, citizenship, TOEFL, ESL and basic skills for elementary, middle and high school skills improvement and much more. Test preparation materials span ages from elementary through adult. This testing resource also provides instant scoring and customized feedback.

Access LearningExpress Library from JCL:

  Click here to access Learning Express Library from a Public Access Computer located at one of the JCL branches.

Access LearningExpress Library from at home (remotely):

  Click here for remote access to LearningExpress Library if you want to access the database from at home (remotely).

Alldata Online

Covers vehicles from 1982 to the present with technical support for vehicles back to 1967. Engine-specific diagnostic and repair procedures, electrical diagrams, maintenance schedules, technical service bulletins and recalls are all included.

Access Alldata from JCL:

  Click here to access Alldata from a Public Access Computer located at one of the JCL branches.

ReferenceUSA

The ReferenceUSA database contains detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses and over 102 million U.S. residents. It functions as a national directory service for both business and residential listings in the United States.

Access ReferenceUSA from JCL:

  Click here to access ReferenceUSA from a Public Access Computer located at one of the JCL branches.

Access ReferenceUSA from at home (remotely):

  Click here for remote access to Reference USA if you want to access the database from at home (remotely).

Missouri Digital Heritage Initiative

The Missouri Digital Heritage Initiative is a collaborative effort that dramatically expands the amount of information available online about Missouri’s past.  The Missouri Digital Heritage Initiative also offers classroom curricula based on the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education’s standards to enable students and others to understand our heritage through the use of primary materials. Teachers, parents, and students can retrieve educational materials directly from the website.

Access Missouri Digital Heritage Initiative from JCL:

  Click here to access Missouri Digital Heritage Initiative from a Public Access Computer located at one of the JCL branches.

Access Missouri Digital Heritage Initiative from at home (remotely):

  Click here for remote access to Missouri Digital Heritage Initiative if you want to access the database from at home (remotely).

OCLC FirstSearch (WorldCat)

An Interlibrary Loan Database of public and academic libraries located in the U.S. which contains all of the catalog records from OCLC member libraries. Materials cataloged include books, computer data files, computer programs, films and slides, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings and videotapes. This database does not include book chapters or individual articles from periodicals.

Access OCLC FirstSearch from JCL:

Click here to access OCLC FirstSearch from a JCL Public Access Computer. Click here to access OCLC FirstSearch from a Public Access Computer located at one of the JCL branches.

Access OCLC FirstSearch from at home (remotely):

Click here for remote accessto OCLC FirstSearch if you want to access the database from at home (remotely). Click here for remote access to OCLC FirstSearch if you want to access the database from at home (remotely). Enter your library card without any spaces on the login page. Then choose OCLC FirstSearch from the online resources listed.

back to top


Ebooks (Electronic Books)

netLibrary

Provides access to more than 6,500 electronic books on a wide variety of topics.  You must be a JCL patron to set up your own account to be able to check out EBooks.  Ebooks may be browsed from public access Internet computers at any library branch.

Access netLibrary from JCL:

Click here if you are access netLibrary from a JCL public access computer. Click here to access netLibrary from a Public Access Computer located at one of the JCL branches.

Access netLibrary from at home (remotely):

Click here if you are accessing netLibrary from at home (remotely). Click here for remote access to Netlibrary if you want to access the Ebooks from at home (remotely). Enter your library card without any spaces on the login page. Then choose netLibrary from the online resources listed.

Tumble Book Library: E-books for E-kids

The TumbleBook Library is a collection of TumbleBooks (animated, talking picture books) TumblePuzzles, TumbleQuizzes and TumbleResources. TumbleBooks are created from existing picture books which have been licensed from children's book publishers and converted to the TumbleBook format.

Access Tumble Book Library from JCL:

  Click here to access Tumble Book Library from a Public Access Computer located at one of the JCL branches.

Access Tumble Book Library from at home (remotely):

  Click here for remote access to Tumble Book Library if you want to access the database from at home (remotely).

back to top